Skip to main content

Saint Louis University Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

A Message from the Provost About New Faculty-Led Academic Committees

Dear Colleagues, 
I write to update you about two new faculty-led groups that will significantly influence SLU's academic direction – short- and long-term.
Science and Engineering Task Force
First is the Science and Engineering Task Force that I announced in my most recent letter.  I solicited nominations for faculty to serve from all deans; from those nominated, I have appointed the following:
  • Dana Baum, Department of Chemistry
  • Doug Boin, Department of History
  • Elena Bray-Speth, Department of Biology
  • Erin Chambers, Department of Computer Science
  • Amy Harkins, Chair of the Department of Health Sciences
  • Michelle Sabick, Dean of Parks College of Engineering, Aviation, & Technology (co-chair)
  • Jonathan Smith, Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement
  • Ken Olliff, Vice President for Research (co-chair)
Please see the attached charge document outlining the responsibilities of the Task Force.  Co-chairs Ken Olliff and Michelle Sabick have already met with the group twice.  They have been asked to submit their recommendations to me by May 1, 2018.
University Undergraduate Core Curriculum Committee
Also now populated (mostly) is the new University Undergraduate Core Curriculum Committee (UUCCC).  Faculty members on the Committee are:
  • Jenny Agnew, School for Professional Studies
  • Lauren Arnold, College for Public Health & Social Justice
  • Ellen Crowell, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Kimberly Druschel, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Laura Franklin, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Amber Johnson, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Ginge Kettenbach, Doisy College of Health Sciences
  • Emily Lutenski, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Ryan McCulla, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Joseph Nichols, School of Education
  • Ness Sandoval, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Devita Stallings, School of Nursing
  • Michael Swartwout, Parks College of Engineering, Aviation, & Technology
  • Bonnie Wilson, Richard A. Chaifetz School of Business
In addition to these faculty, the non-voting members of the UUCCC are:
  • Director of the Core (TBD)
  • Student Government Association Representative (TBD)
  • Student Development Division Representative (TBD)
  • Madrid Campus Representative (TBD)
  • Judy Geczi, University Libraries Representative
  • Gary Barker, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Jay Haugen, University Registrar
  • Steve Sanchez, Assistant Provost
  • Justin Daffron, S.J., Jesuit Community Representative and Assistant to the President
The UUCCC's charge document will be reviewed by the Council of Academic Deans and Directors (CADD) and finalized shortly.  The UUCCC's first task is to solicit nominations from throughout the faculty for a Director of the core; until the Director position is filled, voting UUCCC members will appoint one of their own to be the interim chair.  I am gathering the committee for its first meeting later next week, and I hope to have the Director appointed in mid-Spring 2018.
I am excited about the faculty's expanding role in shaping our academic future.  These two groups will be reaching out to the broader community to support their work; I encourage you to participate in their efforts as requested.  Many thanks to all for your contributions.  
Nancy Brickhouse, Ph.D.