Skip to main content

Saint Louis University Header Logo Center

Menu Search

Philosophy Chair Steps Down After 28 Years

Theodore Vitali, C.P., Ph.D., (Grad A&S '74 and '76) blessing the SLU Legacy Wall in DuBourg Hall.  SLU photo

Theodore Vitali, C.P., Ph.D., the longtime chair of the Department of Philosophy, is stepping down after 28 years. Vitali (Grad A&S ’74 and ’76) has served as chair since 1989. 

During Vitali’s tenure, he coordinated the hiring of three endowed chairs – James Bohman, Ph.D., Eleonore Stump, Ph.D., and John Greco, Ph.D. – and helped raise the graduate program’s profile to rank as one of the top 50 in the nation.

Vitali’s research interests include philosophical theology and environmental philosophy. He is currently at work exploring the historical and cultural forerunners of classical American philosophy and serves as the professional ethicist for the Boone and Crockett Club.
He will return to the department’s teaching faculty following a sabbatical during the 2017-18 academic year.
Scott Ragland, Ph.D., will succeed Vitali and praised his “deep integrity, unwavering care for persons and inspiring leadership” in promoting the University’s Jesuit and Catholic educational mission.