Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

John A. Slosar Shared Governance Award

The John A. Slosar Shared Governance Award, established in 2004, honors John Slosar’s leadership and stalwart commitment to the principles and practice of shared governance.

John, a member of the Saint Louis University faculty from 1971-2004 (and more recently faculty emeritus and co-director of the Doerr Center for Social Justice Education and Research in the School of Social Work), chaired the Faculty Senate Planning Committee and was instrumental in the senate's creation. He served as the senate's first president from 1979-1980 and again from 1999-2001;
and over the years served as a senator and member of various senate committees. John played important roles in governance in the School of Social Work, in the university at large, and at a national level. John served as AAUP SLU Chapter President five times in addition to other AAUP roles regionally and nationally.

Purpose of the Award
To honor and recognize a faculty member who has provided outstanding
contributions to the advancement of shared governance at Saint Louis University.

--Full-time tenured, tenure-track, and non-tenure track faculty at the assistant
professor level or above
--Minimum of five years full time-time employment at Saint Louis University

At all levels of university governance, demonstrated leadership in:
--Advancing the principle of shared governance
--Facilitating representation of faculty in appropriate areas of decision-making
--Development and adaptation of policies and procedures at multiple
governance levels
--Promoting consensus building through collegiality and negotiation, even in
the face of conflict

Award Nominations Process 2024

Kathy Kienstra, Doisy College of Health Sciences

Ruth Evans, College of Arts and Sciences

T. Scott Isbell, School of Medicine
Theodosios Alexander, Parks College of Aviation and Engineering

Stephen Casmier, College of Arts and Sciences

Wynne Moskop, College of Arts and Sciences

Chris Sebelski, Doisy College of Health Sciences
Stacey Harris, College of Arts and Sciences

Alan M. Weinberger, School of Law

Jane Turner, School of Medicine

Ian H. Redmount, College of Arts and Sciences

Ellen P. Carnaghan, College of Arts and Sciences
Mark M. Knuepfer, School of Medicine

Joanne C. Langan, School of Nursing

Susan A. FitzGibbon,  School of Law

John M. Griesbach, School of Law
Geralyn A. Meyer, School of Nursing

Randy S. Sprague, School of Medicine

Miriam E. Joseph, University Libraries

John A. Slosar, College of Education and Public Service/School of Social Work