Saint Louis University Menu Search

Nursing Dean Re-Elected to National Leadership Position

Teri Murray, Ph.D., RN, dean of the School of Nursing, has been re-elected treasurer of the national organization that represents public and private colleges and universities with nursing programs. 

Teri Murray, Ph.D., RN, is dean of SLU's School of Nursing and treasurer of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing.

She has served as treasurer of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) since 2015, and begins her new term on March 23.

Murray is a national leader in nursing education who has served in a variety of teaching roles over the course of her 30-plus year academic career. She studies the best clinical education strategies to promote student learning and most efficient ways to move research into the patient care arena so the health status of individuals, families and the greater community is improved.

SLU’s dean of nursing currently serves on the National Advisory Council on Nurse Education and Practice, Board of Mercy Regional East Hospital Ministries, and as immediate past president of the Nurses for Newborns Foundation. Previously, she was president of the Missouri State Board of Nursing and Missouri delegate to the National Council of State Boards of Nursing.

Murray is a 2016 honoree of the Women’s Leadership Society of the United Way of Greater St. Louis, recipient of the National Coalition of 100 Black Women’s 2016 exemplary leadership award and St. Louis American Foundation’s 2011 Stellar Performance in Healthcare Award, among other awards. She received the AACN’s government affairs advocate of the year award in 2014.

Murray received her bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees from SLU, as well as a certificate from Harvard University’s Management and Leadership Institute. She also earned a master’s degree from the University of Missouri-St. Louis.