Skip to main content

Saint Louis University Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

Saint Louis University Names New Dean of Richard A. Chaifetz School of Business

Media Inquiries

Maggie Rotermund
Senior Media Relations Specialist

Reserved for members of the media.

Barnali Gupta, Ph.D., has been selected as the next Edward Jones Dean for the Richard A. Chaifetz School of Business at Saint Louis University. 

She will join SLU on Jan.1, 2020, succeeding Scott Duellman, Ph.D., who is currently serving as interim dean.

Gupta currently serves as associate dean for curriculum in the Farmer School of Business at Miami University of Ohio, where she holds an academic appointment as Professor of Economics - the first female faculty member to hold the rank of full professor in Miami’s Department of Economics. 

Gupta earned her Ph.D. in Economics at the University of Florida in 1990. She has been a member of the faculty at Miami University since 1993, and has served in her current administrative role since 2016, having previously served as director of graduate studies in the Department of Economics.

“She has an impressive record as an administrator, among many other things, having recruited, retained, and empowered a highly diverse team of program directors, while developing innovative and entrepreneurial programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels,” said Michael Lewis, Ph.D., SLU’s interim provost. “She has a strong and high-quality record of research, as well as a record of teaching excellence, as demonstrated by ten teaching commendations and teaching award nominations over the years.” 

Gupta is an economist with a specialization in industrial organization and applied game theory. 

“We look forward to Dr. Gupta joining our community and leading the Chaifetz School of Business for many years to come,” said Lewis.

The search committee that selected  Gupta was chaired by William Johnson, J.D., dean of the School of Law.

Founded in 1910, the Chaifetz School is the oldest business school west of the Mississippi.

Founded in 1818, Saint Louis University is one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious Catholic institutions. Rooted in Jesuit values and its pioneering history as the first university west of the Mississippi River, SLU offers nearly 13,000 students a rigorous, transformative education of the whole person. At the core of the University’s diverse community of scholars is SLU’s service-focused mission, which challenges and prepares students to make the world a better, more just place. For more information, visit