Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

Marilyn Fox: 1934-2024


Marilyn Fox, a noted St. Louis philanthropist and generous donor to Saint Louis University, died Sunday, Feb. 18, 2024. She was 89.

Fox was a prominent member of the St. Louis community and served on many cultural, educational and social service organizations, including the Jewish Community Center, the Variety Club, and the Jewish Federation. Fox also was a trustee of the Missouri Botanical Garden, was a vice chair of the board of the United Way of Greater St. Louis and served on the boards of the National Conference of Community and Justice and the Women of Achievement.

In 2000, Fox and her husband Sam were recognized for their contributions to the city by Saint Louis University. At the May 2000 commencement ceremony, the Foxes were presented honorary Doctor of Public Service degrees for their work. 

“As the saying goes, it is a true loss to hide one’s light under a basket, never allowing the world to share in the glow of one’s talents,” the commencement citation said. “Marilyn Fox knows this, and she has let her light shine for many St. Louis-area civic organizations and charitable foundations. Friends, colleagues and co-volunteers say it is a true pleasure to serve with Mrs. Fox because she makes serving such a joy. It is her mission to leave the world a better place than how she found it.”

SLU continues to recognize the Foxes with the annual Sam and Marilyn Fox Atlas Week.

The Atlas Week program was named in their honor in 2009. Atlas Week is designed to bring together members of the SLU community to focus on the global challenges that confront the world in the 21st century. The Atlas Program was launched in the spring of 2001 to recognize the international dimension of Saint Louis University's academic programs and to celebrate SLU's role in international education and service in light of our Jesuit tradition. 

In 2009, the Foxes received the Sword of Ignatius Loyola from SLU — the University’s highest honor. The Sword of Ignatius Loyola Award is named for the founder of the Society of Jesus, Inigo Lopez de Loyola, and is infrequently awarded.