Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

The Faculty Manual (St. Louis Campus)

The Faculty Manual is a foundational document setting out, in many respects, the role of the faculty in Saint Louis University governance. It also specifies rights, powers, privileges, and responsibilities of faculty.  Insofar as it does so, it is incorporated by reference in all contracts of employment between faculty and the University.  All substantive modifications to University policies and benefits referenced in this Manual may occur only after prior consultation with the Faculty Senate (p.ii).


This second draft of the proposed 2023-2024 amendments refleccts edits based upon open fora and Qualtrics feedback received since the first draft was presented at the January 16th Faculty Senate meeting.  This revised draft will be presented at the February 20th Faculty Senate meeting and voted on at the March 19, 2024 Senate meeting.

DRAFT #2: Revised Proposed Faculty Manual Amendments (2023-2024)

SEE ALSO: Motion to Faculty Senate for SOM Clinical Faculty Manual Development
This document will be discussed further at the February 20th Faculty Senate meeting and voted on at the March 19, 2024 Senate meeting.


View for reference purposes:

Previous Editions of The Faculty Manual

Process for Amendment of The Faculty Manual

The Joint Provost-Faculty Senate Committee on The Faculty Manual coordinates the revision process, including the proposal of revisions, of The Faculty Manual. All proposed amendments are reviewed by and voted upon by the Faculty Senate per the terms of The Faculty Manual.

A multi-step process with opportunities for public comment and review by senators and other faculty is used for amendments to The Faculty Manual. In November 2012, the Faculty Manual Revision Task Force outlined the process which has been in effect since that time. 

View the Summary

The Joint Office of the Provost-Faculty Senate Committee on The Faculty Manual

2023-2024 Membership

Faculty Senate Leadership

  • Christine Rollins, Faculty Senate President
  • Terry Tomazic, Faculty Senate Past President1

Faculty Representatives Appointed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee2

  • Julie Howe, associate professor, Doisy College of Health Sciences (term ends May 2025)
  • Kristine L'Ecuyer, associate professor, School of Nursing (term ends May 2024)

Standing Members

  • Miriam Joseph, special assistant to the provost [CHAIR]
  • Jane McHowat, associate dean for faculty affairs and professional development (SOM)
  • Danielle Uy, vice president and general counsel

1 Member will be either the Faculty Senate President-Elect or the currently serving Faculty Senate Past President.
2  Faculty representatives serve two-year staggered terms, renewable once.