Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory

Distance Education Committee

The Saint Louis University Office of the Provost relies on the Distance Education Committee (DEC) for developing and overseeing policies and processes for the effective delivery of high-quality distance education at SLU in compliance with the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and federal guidelines. The Provost establishes priorities for the DEC, and the DEC meets regularly throughout the academic year and summer as needed. Recommendations going forward to the Provost will be based on a majority vote by all DEC members.


The Saint Louis University Distance Education Committee will, in partnership with existing structures and stakeholder groups, provide strategy development, planning, forecasting, and recommendations to operationalize the University’s distance education standards. The committee’s immediate charge is to identify areas in which the University is most at risk of regulatory compliance and develop action items to mitigate the risks.


The dean, vice president, director or provost from each college, school, division or provost’s office will choose the DEC member(s) from the respective unit. Each member will serve a two-year term. Reappointment or selection of a new representative is the purview of the dean, vice president, director, or provost from each college, school, division or provost’s office.

The chief online learning Officer, or an individual appointed by the provost, will chair the DEC.

The DEC will invite other community stakeholders to meetings as appropriate. Representation may change periodically should Colleges/Schools realign, or should the DEC Chair or Provost see a need for other voices on the Committee.

University Policy for the Distance Education Committee (DEC) Membership (PDF)

Current Members

Member Unit
Debie Lohe (Chair) Provost - Chief Online Learning Officer
Stacy Godlewski School for Professional Studies
Kristi Richter School of Social Work

Mike Holmes

Information Technology Services
Cathy Cooke Distance Education Office
Alex Rogers Student Development
Julie Howe Doisy College of Health Sciences
Rebecca Hyde University Libraries
Kerrin Kowach School of Law
Sandy Gambill Reinert Center for Transformative Teaching and Learning
Steve Magoc School of Science and Engineering
Liuqing Mai Chaifetz School of Business
Marissa Cope Provost - Assessment
Divya Subramaniam SOM- Dept of Health and Clinical Outcomes Research
Joanne Thanavaro Trudy Busch Valentine School of Nursing
Kathleen Llewellyn College of Arts and Sciences
Michael Elliott College of Public Health and Social Justice
Molly Schaller School of Education